Milk's favorite cookie is accidentally vegan. Oreos are well-known and loved by a lot of people. Oreos are made without dairy-based ingredients - the cream is usually made from sugar, palm oil, and coconut oil. Cookies taste scrumptious with cold oat milk!
Back in the day, before vegan cookies were available in supermarkets, vegans had to make do with Oreos. One of the most popular secrets among vegan communities is that Oreos are not vegan.
They used to contain lard - which isn't vegan-friendly - but back in 1998, Nabisco replaced it with a plant-based fat. That's mainly because for decades they had been fighting with another cookie called Hydrox, who did not have lard and could claim to be Kosher. Since Oreos could now say they were Kosher and vegan. Hydrox only survived a few more years before being discontinued.
We can say that as of 1998, the classic Oreo is vegan. So are the Double-Stuff, Mega Stuff, Gluten-Free, and Gluten-Free Double Stuff. If you're looking for a fudge-covered Oreo (some of which contain dairy), we recommend sticking to one of our 85-plus flavors like Thins or Flavors. Remember to check the ingredients before you decide on your next favorite limited-edition flavor because some flavors have animal-based ingredients.
Beyond Nabisco classics like Oreo, Golden Oreo, and Gluten-Free Oreo there are Flavor Oreos, a lighter, crisper version of the original. For something more about the filling than the cookie, Thins come in Extra Stuff and come in several flavors such as Mint, Golden, Lemon, and Dark Chocolate.
For those who must be completely vegan, the current lineup of Oreo flavors includes Mint, Lemon, Dark Chocolate, Chocolate Hazelnut, Java Chip, Chocolate, Birthday Cake, and Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie. These flavors do not contain dairy or eggs; however, if you avoid processed cane sugar or artificial flavor that are not explicitly labeled vegan, these cookies are not suitable for those diet standards.
Despite the vast variations of Oreos, the ingredients are consistent in all. All cookies contain sugar, unbleached enriched flour, palm and/or canola oil, artificial flavors, cacao, high fructose corn syrup, leavening, salt, soy lecithin, and a variety of food colorings. The differences in flavors come mostly from artificial flavors and colorings.
The mint does contain some peppermint extract, and the chocolate cream renditions have more cocoa.
Homemade Oreos are a lot less complicated. Sure, they're not as crispy or beautifully detailed as the ones you buy in the store, but if you don't want to put Yellow 5 Lake or palm oil in your cookie dough, it's easy to be Oreo-adjacent by making them at home.
Don't pass up this healthy Oreos! They may be labeled as healthy but that's only because the original recipe calls for artificial flavors or palm oil. Sugar takes care of the craving for a sweet snack. We love topping them with peanut butter, a trick we learned from The Parent Trap decades ago - thank you, Lindsay Lohan.
If you want to make homemade vegan Oreos, then you control the thickness of the cookie and the filling. Want extra cream? Slather it on? Prefer a cakier cookie? Make them thicker and bake for an extra minute. You can also use a large cookie cutter and make super-sized Oreos, who doesn't love one of those five-inch wide cookies?
Tag "Oreo" onto any dessert, and it becomes at least fifty percent more appealing. That's a fact we have no data to support, but the anecdotal evidence is strong. These triple-layer brownie bars feature a gooey chocolate chip cookie base, an Oreo and peanut butter middle, and a fudgy brownie top layer. They're all you need for any celebration, breakup, or situation requiring the satisfaction of a major dopamine hit.
Want to make a vegan Oreo crust? Go for it! It's not tough, and the results are both delicious and satisfying. You can just smash Oreo cookies into a powder, mix them with some melted vegan butter or coconut oil, and press the mixture into a pie pan. When you cook it in the oven, then fill it with an awesome chocolate almond butter mixture, you get a cross between yummy cheesecake filling and deep chocolate torte. All in all? Heavenly.
Crumbl Cookies, a national chain with a cult-like following, is notorious for not offering vegan options. We didn't know about their famous fare until Mary-Kate of Mary-Kate's Vegan Cakes started posting copycat renditions of the enormous and welcoming cookies. These Oreo-filled delights feature chunks of Oreos in the batter as well as on top. They're the perfect blend between gooey chocolate chip and crunchy Oreos. One cookie is more than satisfying, but we've polished off two at once.
Explore different varieties of vegan foods to satisfy your taste buds. Order online or buy at the grocery the vegan food like 15 best vegan dairy free cheese brands & The best vegan 3 day detox plan.
For more information visit: vegan oreo flavors and recipes